Getting out of Dublin city

IRELAND 1

Looking for a new apartment around Dublin has been exhausting.

Everyone and their mother are looking for a nice, affordable apartment in a nice area close to public transport. I swear, a place is listed, I ring them an hour after it’s posted and someone just took it over the phone… without even seeing it! Mental I tell you.

However, I have gotten to do a little exploring around outside of the city centre (where I live and work) and it’s been such a breath of fresh air.

While I work in town, my boyfriend works about 15km outside of the city centre, in a smaller little “suburb” of Dublin. So we’ve been trying to compromise, find somewhere that’s a little closer to his work, while still being close to town for me.

In Dublin there’s the DART line (stands for Dublin Area Rapid Transport, it’s a very handy train that goes between the smaller towns around Dublin) and it follows the east coast road. Along the line are cute, scenic little towns that would offer a bit more space, lower rent and a parking space (impossible to find city centre). So we’ve been exploring a few of the towns that have the potential to be our next home.

The other day we went for a walk around Dun Laoghaire (pronounced kind of like Done Leary, if that helps any of you non-Irish like me) which is about a 30-minute train ride from the city centre.

It was so peaceful to get out of town and have a little trip by the sea. There’s a gorgeous, small little street just a little before Dun Laoghaire, which we discovered last weekend. We could never live there, way too insanely expensive, but it’d be nice to live near to sneak away to on nice evenings.

I’m happy I brought my camera along to capture the little slice of peace we found one Sunday afternoon.

IRELAND 3

IRELAND 4

IRELAND 2

 

One thought on “Getting out of Dublin city

  1. Pingback: Just out of Dublin | Lucy Remitz

Leave a Reply

