The Magic Floor + some thoughts

IMG_1139

If we rewind three years ago thinking back to a visit I had in Deer Park, a lovely spot in Howth, the forest was full of color and joy and light.

I’ve come to think of this place often and in my head I keep referring to it as the magic floor. This year I managed to catch the very end of the season (I missed the start as I one. forgot and two. was in France when I remembered it was time) and while I missed the rhododendron wonder, I at least was able to soak up the pink forest floor.

This has been kind of a tough week and I’ve been thinking a lot about moments that I’m thankful for. When I read that Kate Spade and Anthony Bourdain died by suicide, my heart broke for them and their families. Two people seemingly living their lives to the full yet hurting so much inside.

As Cup of Jo so eloquently put, it feels like it’s crucial now more than ever to talk about mental health. The vast amount of people affected by mental health illness needs to be talked about and the stigmas need to go away. While we might think everything looks like a wonderful magic pink floor, I think it’s important to talk about the not so magic, dark floor moments we can all go through too.

I read this last year, I cannot remember where or when, but this morning I found a notebook with the quote written on the first page:

Every day, think as you wake up: today I am fortunate to have woken up. I am alive. I have a precious human life. I am not going to waste it. I am going to use all my energies to develop myself. To expand my heart out to others. To achieve enlightenment for the benefit of all beings. I am going to have kind thoughts towards others. I am not going to get angry or think badly of others. I am going to benefit others as much as I can. – Dalai Lama XIV

I felt like it captured what I sometimes need to tell myself when I have a lump in my throat when I wake up in the morning. Let’s think of kindness to others, especially given this week. In the meantime, I’m going to keep reminding myself of the magic that can be found in our world, knowing that pink floors are temporary but they still are there even when it feels dark.

IMG_1115IMG_1134

Leave a comment